Our Rookies - Whats In Store

Posted by: Dolphin in MyBlog

Tagged in: Untagged 

I apologise for my poor planning and the subsequent premature elaboration of whats in store of our list before we'd even finalised it.

 

Obviously I should have waited until after the rookie draft and spared you both an appendix.  In reality I wasn't really going to bother with the rookies but I think the class of '08 we just collected is worthy of some time in the sun.


Our List - Whats In Store?

Posted by: Dolphin in MyBlog

Tagged in: Untagged 

Barring rookies, we now know what our list will be for he coming season. So what, in as realistic terms as possible, can we expect from our guys. Where will the required improvement come from? Who is going to break out?

 

Who is going to slide? Below is our current list of players and what I am forecasting they'll be doing for us next year. We both know how useless my forecasts are, but you've made it this far, you may as well keep reading.


So, How DID We Draft?

Posted by: Dolphin in MyBlog

Tagged in: Untagged 

First, my usual disclaimer.  This is not a grading of our draft.  No matter what you say, you simply can't grade a draft for at LEAST 12 months.

Remember last year?  Everyone was saying how well the Cheats drafted.  12 months on, who honestly thinks they did better than Palmer, Hinkley, Mayne, & Bradley as a young group?  Even then its still inconclusive.

So, all I'm doing here is looking at who we picked up and what the logic was (in my opinion).


How Will We Draft?

Posted by: Dolphin in MyBlog

Tagged in: Untagged 

OK, this is not a mock draft...I hate them.  Noone can know what 1 club is thinking with ANY degree of certainty, so to guess on all 16?  Just too hard.

Instead, I thought I would look at what we at Freo will possibly be faced with when each of our choices come around.

True - this is a very slight variation on a Mock Draft but the fact is that there is a scandalous lack of blogging going on right now so there's a fair chance someone might read it.


School of the Arrogant Cat

Posted by: Greg in MyBlog

Tagged in: Untagged 

Its official, the Cats epitomize sickening and embarrassing arrogance and someone needs to get a hold of them and tell them to pull their heads in. What the hell are they teaching down Geelong way? Are their players studying degrees in how to become an Arrogant Half Back Flanker? If so, they are achieving an enormous success rate.

Take Scarlett's, whatever he insultingly said to Robert Harvey, his "Another premiership is coming up boys," his previous blurb to Fevola that he "has every full forward in the competition covered" and add it to Ablett's blatant dummy spit when Ling got the final Geelong votes after earlier in the night saying it meant little as he had no expectations and had more important things this week and it equals a cat skinning exhibition this Saturday at the MCG.

On the eve of a Grand Final Ablett's reaction, for mine, was appalling and any teammate the likes of possibly Jimmy Bartel, you would imagine, would be embarrassed. The problem is while Bartel seemingly occupies an under control and humble ego, not many of his teammates have followed his lead. Most of them appear to get around in the Ablett / Selwood / Scarlett and Harley modes.


Do the Right Thing

Posted by: pants in MyBlog

Tagged in: Untagged 

It’s my first outing here for a little while and I’m going to swim against the tide a little.

I think the club did the right thing with Jeff Farmer.

There, I said it. You may call me an apologist, a patsy, that I’m toeing the party line. You might call me a wowser or politically correct. Some of you may have nastier words that Shane won’t let me use on this forum. Some of you may even call me a Big Girl…


Show me the Money

Posted by: Roger in MyBlog

Tagged in: Untagged 


It's not often I disagree with Guy Smiley, and even on the topic of Jeff's mishandling by the club, he gives me pause to think, because he's right, we're attaching emotional responses to the events of yesterday.

So I thought about it. It still sucks. 

It sucks because I'm the sort of bloke that gives everyone a fair go, until they demonstrate that they don't deserve the privilege. As far as I'm concerned, this is such a moment for me with Mark Harvey and his team.

It was only a few weeks ago that I thought the FFC stood for something still recognisable as football, despite the inevitable, necessary and prominent corporatisation of footy. I thought it was still possible to do the right thing by the team, the supporters and players and run a footy club in the modern climate. 

That the club did what they did for Shaun McManus, when many in the footy world saw only a flawed but hard working clubman, cast adrift in a media created world of 'superstars' told me they still understand they are a footy club.

To do what they've done to one of the best, if not the best small forward of the modern era, is a disgrace.

I've never condoned what issues Jeff created off field, and his latter transgression on field always attracted more penalty than they were worth, because of the umpire baggage of being Jeff Farmer.

Like the team we've become used to seeing so often, the admin have lurched from the sublime to the ridiculous. It now seems clear this was a foregone conclusion before last Friday. Yet Jeffrey really did play that game as if it were his last. Because he knew it was. The way he played it, no one could tell; it just looked like the Wiz playing like he always does.

I was sitting way up on Jeff's right as he kicked his final goal. I got a perfect side view of the ball in flight. It was headed for the far post. At some point, it reversed and parallel parked itself plum between the sticks. It was at that point I thought Jeff had demonstrated he was worth another year. It seems he was just proving a point, yet sad he was able to do so.

After a year of indifference to Freo's fortunes this year, considering our season was shot early, and begrudgingly knowing I'll be forking out out to do it again in 09. After that goal, feeling certain he'd be doing it again, I was ready to write a cheque with pleasure.

And given the exodus this year, it's hard, no impossible, to fathom why he won't be there. Sure it's only a year, but there's a brace of kids coming in who will now get plenty of games, and playing alongside Jeff not only gives them breathing space, but experience. 

Mark Harvey has dropped a fair way down in my estimation. Next year this decision could well come and bite him on the arse. It's not just that Jeff only had a year left, it's the manner of his leaving. Jeff didn't retire, he was retired.
 

 

 

The changing of the guard

Posted by: guy smiley in MyBlog

Tagged in: Untagged 

This is gonna have to be a fast blog... theoretically, I'm working. As always.

 

Yesterday came the news I half expected, half dreaded, half resisted. I was in a mind and a half last night, let me tell you. Having spent most of my life in two minds over any and everything, it's an improvement. If I can just get the voices to lay off for a while, I'll be on a winner. Just me and the birdsong.


AFL Power Rankings Week 22

Posted by: Dolphin in MyBlog

Tagged in: Untagged 

 

Well there it is, another year, another season of the Freo enigma wrapped in a bow and delivered neatly to history's door step.  Now things start to get very interesting don't they. 

 

Wednesday's Wiz Watch has officially begun.  Will they or won't they give him another year?  I hope they do.


This is the end

Posted by: guy smiley in MyBlog

Tagged in: Untagged 

Beautiful friend

This is the end


My only friend, the end


<< Start < Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next > End >>