To paraphrase a recently unemployed bloke, you coach yourself in and you coach yourself out and this week David Hale has coached himself in...well, presumably. He might have just been the only bloke who knew where the keys to the whistle locker were kept. Who knows. But he'll take the reigns of the team this week as caretaker coach and has decided to carry on the fine tradition of not doing anything on selection night, with Aaron Sandilands and Hayden Ballantyne going out of the team to enjoy their retirement and the usual suspects Bailey Banfield, Brett Bewley, Travis Colyer, Scott Jones, Ryan Nyhuis and Jason Carter jumping onto the long bench because the AFL has decided to prolong the pain by playing Fremantle on Sunday, as late as possible.

FB: Dan Houston Tom Jonas Riley Bonner
FF: Sam Switkowski Cam McCarthy Brandon Matera
HB: Hamish Hartlett Justin Westhoff Darcy Byrne-Jones
HF: Adam Cerra Michael Walters Andrew Brayshaw
C: Xavier Duursma Tom Rockliff Karl Amon
C: Ed Langdonn Ethan Hughes Bradley Hill
HF: Robbie Gray Charlie Dixon Sam Gray
HB: Reece Conca Griffin Logue Darcy Tucker
FF: Todd Marshall Paddy Ryder Connor Rozee
FB: Connor Blakely Joel Hamling Taylin Duman
MID: Scott Lycett Ollie Wines Travis Boak
MID: Sean Darcy Nat Fyfe David Mundy
BENCH: Matthew Broadbent Ryan Burton
Sam Mayes Billy Frampton
Cam Sutcliffe Willem Drew Trent McKenzie
Sam Powell-Pepper
BENCH: Mitchell Crowden Lachie Schultz
Bailey Banfield Brett Bewley
Travis Colyer Scott Jones Ryan Nyhuis
Jason Carter
Port Adelaide
25th August
Adelaide Oval
Port Adelaide $1.38
Fremantle $3