With a week left to go and the top of the ladder secure, the home final in the bag and the Preliminary Final contingency plan organised, Fremantle have decided to take a leaf out of God’s book and have a rest day. 11 blokes have decided that the one day a week, 6 month a year job is too much for them and put their hand up for a rest. Danyle Pearce, Luke McPharlin, Lee Spurr, Stephen Hill, Michael Johnson, David Mundy, Aaron Sandilands, Matthew Pavlich, Chris Mayne, Jon Griffin and Cam Sutcliffe will be out of last week’s team, with Griffin and Sutliffe having the good taste to come up with a injury. Hayden Ballantyne, Michael Walters and Nat Fyfe were already resting. Into the side will be Alex Pearce, Jack Hannath, Lachie Weller, Hayden Crozier, Matt Taberner, Tanner Smith, Max Duffy and Zac Clarke, Brady Grey, Connor Blakely and Ethan Hughes. The club assures as that all of those players are registered with the club. Michael Barlow was given the option of having a rest but decided to take the opportunity of being the first Fremantle captain to win the minor premiership.

FB: Cam O'Shea Jack Hombsch Jasper Pittard
FF: Ed Langdon Matt Taberner Max Duffy
HB: Nathan Krakouer Tom Jonas Matthew Broadbent
HF: Hayden Crozier Zac Clarke Michael Barlow
C: Hamish Hartlett Robbie Gray Brad Ebert
C: Lachie Wellern Clancee Pearce Tommy Sheridan
HF: Justin Westhoff Jay Schulz Chad Wingard
HB: Nick Suban Alex Pearce Garrick Ibbotson
FF: Matt White Patrick Ryder Jake Neade
FB: Tendai Mzungu Zac Dawson Paul Duffield
MID: Matthew Lobbe Travis Boak Sam Gray
MID: Jack Hannath Matt de Boer Lachie Neale
BENCH: John Butcher Karl Amon
Jarman Impey Brendon Ah Chee
BENCH: Tanner Smith Ethan Hughes
Brady Grey Connor Blakely
Port Adelaide
5th Septemeber
Adelaide Oval
Port Adelaide $1.11
Fremantle $6.50