TOPIC: Colyer/Mcintosh 50m

cletus Colyer/Mcintosh 50m 2 weeks 21 hours ago #1

cletus
I profess I do not understand this rule.

I would love someone to explain it to me.?

I do understand there is an 'exclusion zone' , but, Colyer was following his man ans made no deviation towards the 'kicker' (Mcintosh), nor, the 'man on the mark' (Ryan. )

50m penalty for ' doing nothing of intent' seems way too harsh to.me.

If Colyer had 'run into' the zone, or refused to leave it, i'd understand.

His only option was to run away from the man he was running with and allow him to run past for the handball.

Bad rule , or bad interpretatuon of a stupid rule.!
Login to reply,
Alvin Prpl, shirtfront, Corporal Agarn, R.Lyon said You Beaut

Walter the baker Colyer/Mcintosh 50m 2 weeks 21 hours ago #2

Walter the baker
Bad rule: players having no impact on the kicker and/or his disposal should not be penalised. The current rule penalises a player who is simply setting up for the next contest. If Colyer had cause McIntosh even 1% inconvenience then ping him for the 50 but McIntosh didn’t even know he was there. It isn’t an interpretation problem, it is a problem with the rule.
Login to reply,
cletus, shirtfront, purple mao, Corporal Agarn said You Beaut

cletus Colyer/Mcintosh 50m 2 weeks 20 hours ago #3

cletus
Question is WTB...what kind of submoronic rules comittee thinks that that rule change is a good one. ?? Or, benefits the game at all. ??

Its stupendous !
Login to reply,

DS Colyer/Mcintosh 50m 2 weeks 19 hours ago #4

DS
Maybe I’ve got it wrong but I thought the 50 was against Ryan who ever so briefly tugged on McIntosh’s jumper.
Login to reply,

Raglan Matt Colyer/Mcintosh 50m 2 weeks 19 hours ago #5

Raglan Matt
No, it was against Brad Hill, he bent down and reached for a piece of grass.
Login to reply,
cletus said You Beaut

rogerrocks Colyer/Mcintosh 50m 2 weeks 2 hours ago #6

rogerrocks
Interestingly when Conca marked just outside the attacking 50 Dusty hung around in the protected area, ready to tackle if he played on. Umpire didn't notice. A 50m penalty there would have been handy.
Login to reply,

expat Colyer/Mcintosh 50m 2 weeks 2 hours ago #7

expat
They need to revamp this 50m penalty. It should be that any player within the protected zone are forbidden to impede the ball kicker, but if they do, then the 50m should apply. Just being there is a crock to award a 50m penalty. Far too harsh...
Login to reply,
Walter the baker said You Beaut

Raglan Matt Colyer/Mcintosh 50m 2 weeks 1 hour ago #8

Raglan Matt
And the rule is already in place to award a 50 against a player who makes a tackle from inside the zone after play on is called. Another example of the rules committee causing more problems than they solve, by changing the rules.
Login to reply,

moodindigo Colyer/Mcintosh 50m 2 weeks 1 hour ago #9

moodindigo
I thought the Fyfe 100m was interesting. Fyfe ran ahead of Nankervis and didn't turn around. Nankervis literally had no way of giving Fyfe the ball. If he'd thrown it to him it would have bounced off Fyfe's back and presumably also been another 50. And if he'd sprinted to catch Fyfe and hand him the ball, he would have also been pinged for impeding him.
So if you just run forward and don't look at the person with the ball you are pretty much guaranteed to be able to just run to the goal line.
Login to reply,

Raglan Matt Colyer/Mcintosh 50m 2 weeks 1 hour ago #10

Raglan Matt
Fyfe did actually gesture for the footy, Nankervis ignored him. It was after the second fifty was paid that Fyfe ran on without looking back
Login to reply,
freo00 said You Beaut

rogerrocks Colyer/Mcintosh 50m 2 weeks 27 minutes ago #11

rogerrocks
Agree RM. Fyfe looked at Nankervis as he ran past, and Nankervis saw this and tucked the ball more tightly under his arm.
Login to reply,

maynefan Colyer/Mcintosh 50m 1 week 6 days ago #12

maynefan
I also think it was a bit of an evener upperer, another tigers player had held onto the ball and took ages to give it to our players, handed it over when everyone had manned up. I think when nankervis did it soon after the umpire was making a point.
Login to reply,

Raglan Matt Colyer/Mcintosh 50m 1 week 6 days ago #13

Raglan Matt
Good of him to make a point, thought there were plenty of other points around the holding the ball/illegal disposal he could have made.
Login to reply,

Mushroom Colyer/Mcintosh 50m 1 week 6 days ago #14

Mushroom
So it's entering the protected zone, unless the umpire "calls" play on, and if you can't hear him among the crowd noise because he talks like a little girl then it's holding the ball, then if you tell the umpire he talks like a little girl it's a $10,000 fine.

www.afl.com.au/news/2019-05-14/rampe-sla...nts-scaling-goalpost

The enforcement of the protected zone rule is just a mystery bag.
Login to reply,
Corporal Agarn said You Beaut